The Representation Review Process

Every three years elections are held for local authorities. This includes mayors, councillors, community board members and local board members. These are the triennial elections.

Local authorities are required to review their representation arrangements at least once every six years. As part of the representation review a local authority can take a fresh look at the structure of its membership and the way they are elected. This could affect the total number of members, whether they come from a ward or 'at large' across the wider district, the boundaries of wards and constituencies, or the names of wards and constituencies.

A representation review must be publicly notified by the council no later than 31 August in the year before an election.

Any member of the public can make a written submission on a proposed representation review. The council considers all submissions and may change its proposals as a result. If a person who made a submission is not satisfied with the council's amended proposal they can appeal against it.

If a council receives any objection it must refer the whole representation review to the Local Government Commission. It must do this no later than 15 January in the year of the election.

The Commission has a quasi-judicial role to determine the best representation arrangements for that local authority. It takes into account the original council decisions, the submissions, appeals and objections. It must issue its decision no later than 11 April of the election year.

A Commission decision can be appealed to the High Court on a point of law.

Note: A separate process is followed if a local authority wants to change its electoral system, e.g. first past the post or single transferable vote; or if it wants to establish Maori wards. These matters can not be appealed to the Commission. The electoral arrangements for licensing trusts and district health boards are also not within the scope of the Local Government Commission.

2015 Review Prior to the 2016 Local Elections

Submissions have now closed

On July 23, 2015, the Mackenzie District Council reviewed its representation arrangements and resolved that the following proposal apply for the council and its community boards for the elections to be held on October 8, 2016:

Council Representation

It is proposed that the council comprise six members elected from two wards, and the Mayor. The two wards reflect the following identified communities of interest:


Communities of interest

Opuha Ward

The area of more intense pastoral farming encompassing the Fairlie Basin below the top of Burkes Pass, including the rural areas of Albury, Cave, Allandale, Ashwick Flat, the village of Burkes Pass and the township of Fairlie.

Pukaki Ward

The area of High Country land west of the Two Thumb and Dalgety Ranges, farming the Mackenzie Basin and including the township of Twizel and Tekapo, associated rural areas and the Mount Cook Village.

This retains the status quo.

The population that each member will represent is as follows:



(2013 Census)


Population per member













In accordance with section 19V(2) of the Local Electoral Act 2001 the population that each member represents must be within the range of 693 +/- 10% (624 to 762), unless particular community of interest considerations justify otherwise. Both wards comply with the statutory test.

Community Board Representation

It is proposed that the following three community boards be elected:

Fairlie Community Board

Tekapo Community Board

Twizel Community Board

The changes to the previous community board areas are summarised below:

Fairlie - The Fairlie Community Board boundary has had minor amendments to better reflect the urban boundary of Fairlie. Amendments are proposed to include all of a subject property within the boundary, whereas the previous boundary had included only half of that property; and to exclude two other areas of land, one being an area along the Opihi riverbed and the other a small area of farmland to the west, which is part of a larger rural property.

Tekapo - The boundary of the Tekapo Community Board is proposed to be changed to exclude the area of council-owned forestry and the land containing the sewerage ponds to the south of the town. This is proposed because there is no current or likely future residential activity in those areas.

Twizel - the boundary for the Twizel Community Board is unchanged.

The community boards are proposed to comprise the following membership:

Community Board

Elected members

Appointed members


Four members elected by the Fairlie community as a whole

One member appointed by the Council


Four members elected by the Tekapo community as a whole

One member appointed by the Council


Four members elected by the Twizel community as a whole

One member appointed by the Council

This is the status quo and no changes to current community board structures are proposed.

Further Information

Copies of the council's resolution and maps setting out the areas of the proposed wards and community boards may be obtained from council offices in Main Street, Fairlie or Market Place, Twizel.

Submissions have now closed

MoST Content Management V3.0.7525